Think about this

Late last night when Guido and I climbed into bed things started to get heavy almost straight off. I think it was only marginally to do with the very large and thick wedge of home baked raisin and apple pastry plait and the full fat cream which I’d scoffed just before I’d gotten between the sheets. As you will now realise, The Banana Diet is off the menu. Though I’m making a mental note as I type this. Visit pharmacy tomorrow to buy some more Pepto-Bismol.

“It’s times like this it really makes you think, doesn’t it?” said Guido staring at our bedroom ceiling in deep contemplation like he’d gone into some sort of a trance.

By the way, in case you’re wondering, the paint is still flaking off it.

“I mean,” said Guido with a thoughtful hmm… sound at the end his sentence, “what’s it really all about?”

Great, I thought, it’s almost midnight and the last thing I wanted to do was start to contemplate life as we know it under a duvet. So I lay there silently next to him waiting for some kind of hidden clue about where this conversation might be going to take us. In the end I just said what I always say to Guido when I can’t figure out what he’s talking about. Which is – why don’t you roll over and I’ll give it a rub? It usually moves things along a bit.

“Who would have thought one man’s life would be defined by what he decided to put in his mouth?” said Guido completely ignoring me. Though if I’m honest I suddenly perked up. I had the feeling this conversation had the potential to turn into something really quite promising after all.

“Think, just for a moment, about some of the special people who have made their mark,” he said.

The air should have been full of Mahatma Gandhis and Winston Churchills but for some strange reason the only person running through my mind was Judge Judy Sheindlin.  But Jim Delligatti, who sadly died aged 98 last week, certainly hadn’t been on my list. If you’ve never heard of Jim, 50 years ago he single handedly invented the Big-Mac. He created the formula of having two lots of everything – beef patties, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions and a special sauce – all in one burger.

“The dude was a legend,” said Guido flicking out the light. “A true hero in the world of beef in a lightly toasted brioche bun. I can only dream of coming up with a recipe which might one day be so iconic.”

I closed my eyes in the darkness. Despite the fact I’d just eaten a luscious slice of sticky dessert merely 15 minutes before, I felt weirdly empty. I opened my eyes. Big-Mac 550 calories, fries 230 calories, milkshake 530 calories. Total 1290 calories. That’s more than half an average Joe’s daily calorie intake in one sitting. I closed my eyes again and tried to think only about bananas but it didn’t seem to work.

I really couldn’t tell you what Guido’s legacy will be to the culinary world but if it has anything to do with what I write and what you read on this blog then I think it’s definitely going to involve a salami sausage. And if he took the lead from big Jim Delligatti, there will probably be two of them. Now, that certainly was something to think about.

 

32 thoughts on “Think about this

  1. Love your thoughts on things JP. I also read where the creator of General Tsos Chicken, Peng Chang-kuei, also passed away this week at the age of 98. They created two of what is considered today to be unhealthy meals and managed to live a long life. Tell Guido to get working on his salami sausage dish so the two of you can live a long and happy life :). Hugs to you both!!!

    Like

  2. I don’t know why but reading your post just now got me thinking of Berry Bros & Rudd at 3 St-James st. SW1. My favourite store in London, I remember a long time ago at Xmas time being in London for a few days on a stopover and going there, what a fascinating place.

    Like

  3. What I like most about your blog (and your posts) is the deceptive depth. You make me think. On the surface, it’s funny and full of quick, hot innuendo and sleight of tongue 😉 … but under that roils this deeper meaning that keeps me thinking (and thinking). Life isn’t just what we make it … sometimes we are what life makes us. Your blog captures that perfectly. Well, as you can tell. I like your writing (and your life with Guido). You need to write a novel. It’s in your blood. Trust me (I’m a New Yorker, we know these things). You’re the next David Sedaris.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

