One for the road

Guido’s parents, Juan and Rosa, stopped by the café tonight at around seven thirty to discuss the final preperations for our wedding menu. At some point between arguing about shelling prawns and whipping up the perfect meringue, Juan mixed a couple of jugs of his lethal sangria and switched on our Gypsy Kings CD. Then the four of us conga danced around the kitchen to Bem Bem Bem Maria, and yes you guessed it, by ten thirty the two of them had both passed out in our bed. Thank God it’s not tomorrow night or the pavlova could resemble the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

“You can have the couch later,” said Guido magnanimously, “I’ll take the floor.” He held up a couple of glasses full of sangria, “But why don’t we both just have one more for the road?”

I pulled the cushions and the rug off our sofa and we went downstairs and laid them out in the courtyard for a while. It’s been one of those lukewarm and calm London nights when you could hear double decker buses toot their horns going along the main road, a siren rushed urgently over on the other side of the River Thames and, if you looked straight up you could see the last of the night’s flights blinking over head as they turned towards the Heathrow landing lights. Guido put his arm round me. I pulled the blanket up to his hairy knees and we chinked tumblers together in a toast.

“Is that the Milky Way over there?” I said pointing up.

“Nah,” said Guido. “that’s just city light pollution.”

I squinted through my sangria, “I definitely think that’s the Milky Way. If not it’s some undiscovered constellation or galaxy. I wonder if somewhere way out there in deepest space, there’s a couple of gay Martians planning on getting married some time soon,” I said. “If only we had late night access to the telescope at the Greenwich Observatory we could wave good-luck to them too.”

Then all of a sudden I heard a peculiar snorting noise and when I looked round I could see Guido had just fallen asleep on my shoulder. I’m really hoping this isn’t some worrying new phenomenon he’s planning on introducing at bedtime after we’re married. Because if I blog that line of mine in the future – last night Guido and I were in bed – you’d know that in reality the fascinating discussion I’d been having had actually been just with myself.

Sitting there staring up at the cosmos my thoughts naturally started to stray to our wedding ceremony.  I thought about the potentially cataclysmic choice of wearing a tight fitting tartan suit. Which of course made me empty the contents my glass in one giant gulp.  I pondered the enormity of our wedding vows. Which of course then made me empty the contents of Guido’s glass in one giant gulp.

On Monday I’ll be telling Guido I will love him, I will honour him, and perhaps most binding of all, I will promise to cherish his spicy meatballs in a tomato arrabiata sauce for as long as we both shall live.

If the two of us can both manage to love each other for that long, then I reckon I’ve got to be the luckiest guy in the whole of the universe.

54 thoughts on “One for the road

  1. Did you create you own vows? If so I’d skip the spicy meatball commitment – it may be the most binding. It’s going to be magical, sending best wishes and the brightest of hopes for an eternity of loving.

    Like

  2. You certainly are a pair of lucky, lucky boys. Didn’t it come round quickly? I’ll be thinking of you and wishing you a marvellous day, then another after that, and another please Carol, etc. See you on the other side of the tartan suit! 😉

    Like

  3. Sounds like your hands are already full!!! I also have the feeling you won’t be hearing the snorting to much when you say Last night when Guido and I were in bed…..ill have a little message for you tomorrow. Xoxo

    Like

  4. I am visiting from the Mistress Borghese place. Best wishes for a wonderful day!!! I will be back to read more, you guys sound like a riot!

    Like

  5. Congratulations on your big day!!! I wish you good wishes and much happiness! I am coming over from the Mistress Borgheses place. I will be back to read more.

    Like

  6. My husband was reluctant to get married. I was OK with the idea until the day or two before when I had a moment of this is really happening. Do I want to do this? It passed. I think it’s a guy thing to think twice (or more) about it.

    Best of luck to the two of you.

    Like

  7. I’m visiting from Mistress Borghese’s to wish you a wondrous day of love, happiness and good tidings on your special day. You guys sounds like a hoot.

    Like

  8. Congrats. By the time you get this, you’ll be married. Unless there is a Runaway Bride scenario. While that would be sad – it would make for a few great blog posts.

    Like

  9. Hey Mr. Guido! Can’t wait to hear all the fabulous details. After all, as Plato says, at the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet.
    To love someone deeply gives you strength. Being loved by someone deeply gives you courage. So to you my friend, I wish strength and courage…and a deliciously naughty honeymoon of course!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congratulations on your wedding, you both! ☺ little teary eyed here. Wish you loads of happiness and never ending love 😙💛

    Like

  11. Just found you via Timelesswheel and now you’ve disappeared! Was it something I didn’t say? Congratulations, so happy for you. Look forward to reading future adventures 👏🏻💐🎉🎈😊

    Like

  12. Oh the arc of the Milky Way – I’ve seen it exactly ONCE in my life. It was on U.S. 17 in northeastern North Carolina. I looked in the mirrors and it’s utterly black. So what do I do, I pull over to the side of the road. Then I look up and it’s awesome. Someone says he grew up with that because it’s nothing special. I’m all “What the hell!” Living in the light polluted northeast U.S. you don’t get to see that all too often.

    And of course my camera was 30 miles behind me, I mean who needed a camera we were just visiting famiy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

